Skip to main content


Georgia State Language

English dictionary definition of work; photo by Jeffrey Cuvilier on Flickr (noncommercial use permitted with attribution / share alike).

Official State Language of Georgia

Georgia designated English as the official state language in 1996. All State Languages

Several states have adopted official state languages. 18% of the United States population over the age of five speaks a language other than English at home (including native American languages, Spanish, German, French, Tagalog, Italian, Chinese, Polish, Korean, Russian, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, and American sign language). Quite a few states have adopted official state languages, but the United States does not recognize an official national language.