English + 20

Alaska State Languages


English Dictionary

English Dictionary; photo by Adam DeClercq on Flickr (noncommercial use permitted with attribution / share alike).

English + 20

Alaska passed a bill in 1998 designating English as the official state language. In 2014 the official language act was amended, adding 20 Alaskan native languages as co-official languages with English. These languages are:

Inupiaq, Siberian Yupik, Central Alaskan Yup'ik, Alutiiq, Unangax, Dena'ina, Deg Xinag, Holikachuk, Koyukon, Upper Kuskokwim, Gwich'in, Tanana, Upper Tanana, Tanacross, Hän, Ahtna, Eyak, Tlingit, Haida, and Tsimshian.

14.3% of Alaska's residents speak a language other than English, and 2.4% are linguistically isolated.

18% of the United States population over the age of 5 speaks a language other than English at home (including Spanish, German, Native American, French, Scandinavian, Tagalog, Italian, Chinese, Polish, Korean, and Russian). Official language laws have been passed in several states, but the United States does not recognize an official national language.



Percent of Alaska's population over 5 years old speaking a language other than English at home. Image © ProEnglish.
Alaska Language Chart